Small Christian Communities



Most Rev. Ignatius Loyola Mascarenhas
Bishop of Simla-Chandigarh
Bishop’s House, Sector 19A
Chandigarh – 160 019, India

Phone: +91-172-2775777, 2773777


Executive Secretary

Contact Deputy Secretary General
CCBI Centre, P.B. No. 8490
Hutchins Road 2 Cross, Bangalore- 560084
Karnataka, India

Tel: +91-80-25498282, 9632381810



Most Rev. Selvister Ponnumuthan
Bishop of Punalur
Bishop’s House, Elampal P.O.
Punalur – 691 322, Kollam Dist, Kerala

Phone: +91-475-2225419, 2227078



Most Rev. Gerald John Mathias
Bishop of Lucknow
Bishop’s House,Hazratganj, P. B. No. 70
Lucknow – 226 001; Uttar Pradesh

Phone: +91-522-2625472, 2615644


Brief History of the Commission

The CCBI established Commission for Ecology during the XXXI Plenary Assembly held from 7 to 14 January 2019, at Joe Animation Centre, Mahabalipuram, Chennai, Tamilnadu. Them members of the Assembly voted in favour of establishing the Commission and elected His Excellency Most Rev. Ignatius Loyola Mascarenhas as its first chairman.

The Bishops decided to establish a Commission for Small Christian Communities to promote the Gospel values at the grass root level and prepare all faithful to witness the compassionate ministry of the Church in their local life situations.

The proposal to establish a Commission for Small Christian Communities was discussed in the 79 Executive Committee meeting of the CCBI held on 1 May 2018, at St John’s National Academy of Health Sciences, Bangalore. Being aware of the importance of the ministry the Bishops felt the need to establish a Commission.

Former Chairmen

  1. Most Rev. Ignatius Loyola Mascarenhas, Simla-Chandigarh: 2019-