Most Rev. Allwyn D’Silva
Auxiliary Bishop of Bombay
St. John Baptist Church, Jambli Naka
L.B.S Marg, Thane 400601
Maharashtra, India

Phone: +91-22-25348671, 25435411



Contact Deputy Secretary General

CCBI Centre, P.B. No. 8490
Hutchins Road 2 Cross, Bangalore- 560084
Karnataka, India 

Tel: +91-80-25498282, 9632381810



Most Rev. Ivan Pereira
Bishop of Jammu-Srinagar
Bishop’s House, Jammu Cantt. – 180 003
Jammu and Kashmir, India

Phone: +91-191-2430083



Most Rev. Kishor Kumar Kujur
Bishop of Rourkela
Bishop’s House, Hamirpur
P. O. Rourkela – 769 003
Dist. Sundargarh, Odisha, India

Phone: +91-661-2647041


Brief History of the Commission

The CCBI established Commission for Ecology during the XXXI Plenary Assembly held from 7 to 14 January 2019, at Joe Animation Centre, Mahabalipuram, Chennai, Tamilnadu. Them members of the Assembly voted in favour of establishing the Commission and elected His Excellency Most Rev. Allwyn D’Silva as its first chairman.

The Bishops decided to establish a Commission for Ecology, as a response to the appeal of Pope Francis in his Encyclical Letter “Laudato Si” published in 2015, in which the Pope urges all people of good will to take care of our universe.

The proposal to establish a Commission for Ecology was discussed in the 79 Executive Committee meeting of the CCBI held on 1 May 2018, at St John’s National Academy of Health Sciences, Bangalore. Being aware of the importance and urgency to respond to the environmental challenges in India and trying to embark on a new path to care and protect the environment, the Bishops felt the need to establish a Commission.

Former Chairmen

  1. Most Rev. Allwyn D’Silva, Auxiliary of Bombay: 2019-